Skybar

Sawat dee kup my friends. Kuun-nii khun duu suay maak! (You look beautiful tonight!) Please allow yourself a moment to shower me with praise for my improving Thai skills. I may be a ways off from catching up with Tom (aka Dr. Smug), but I’m getting there. Life has been pretty worky/uneventful lately, but we had an awesome time in Bangkok this weekend. The bromance was in full force as we dusted off our smart clothes and went to a Bangkok sky bar.

Image

This place was called Above Eleven on Sukhumvit. It wasn’t the one from the Hangover, but it was incredible. 360 degree views, great music, and full of the beautiful people. The drinks may have been 200 baht each, but I happily paid for the view. Plus I hadn’t seen any of the group since New Years so it was good to catch up with everyone. Definitely one of the better nights in Bangkok to this point. Combine all that with a weekend full of dirty western food and you got yourself a pretty darn good time.

School has been a bit tough the last week or so. There’s three weeks left until the end of the term so the students are battling senioritis just as much as I am. I need write my final exams this week, which is gonna be tough for some classes. Between our teacher conference and classes being randomly cancelled, I’ve seen a some of my classes 2 or 3 times since the midterm. I’m going to have to get a little creative. I wish the best of luck to my fellow teachers with the last few weeks.

Sometimes it’s still kind of surreal that I’m a teacher and authoritative figure to these kids. When I was sitting in my van yesterday waiting to come home, I see one of my older students walking up and he plops down next to me (We’re 3 hours away, small world). Instead of shaking his hand like an adult and saying, “Hello Cream, how are you?” I instinctively went for the slap-and-pound hand shake and said, “Cream! What’s up buddy?” (and yes, that’s his name. How cool is that?) I was also sitting there unshowered, ketchup stain on my Red Bull tank top, and sweating profusely. Needless to say, I was in no state to put my respectable teacher game face on. I’m sure half of the school knows about it by now.

Anyways, I miss you guys back home. I haven’t had many homesick days since I’ve been here, but Superbowl Sunday was definitely one. I tried to explain to everyone that it’s essentially a national holiday in America. Something like 111 million people watched it this year? That’s craziness. The game may have been terrible, but I sure wish I could’ve had some burgers and smothered myself in BBQ sauce.

Image

In other news, I farted on the skytrain today. It was crowded. And it was bad. John knew it was me because he said it smelled like a “Western fart.” So apparently our farts smell like stale beer, shame, and McDonalds. I felt like Jim Carey in Liar Liar.

I don’t know why I shared that. I’m sorry. Enjoy the rest of your day.

One thought on “Skybar

Post Comment